PM Transcripts - Prime Ministers of Australia


Prime Minister - Hawke, Robert

Media Release - 23 July 1987

VIEW ORIGINAL TRANSCRIPT: UNKNOWN View original scan of this transcript

Subject to the requirements of the Public Service Act the
Prime Minister proposes to recommend to the Governor-General
the following appointments as Secretaries to Departments.
Industrial Relations Mr R M Taylor AO
Employment, Education and Dr V W FitzGerald
Training Transport and Communications Dr P S Wilenski AO
Primary Industries and Energy Mr G C Evans
The Arts, Sport, the Mr A S Blunn
Environrrent, Tourism and Territories
Community Services and Health Mr A JrAyers AO
In the case of all other Departments the existing Department
Secretary will continue ( list attached).
The Prime Minister also announced that the following would
be appointed as Associate Secretaries to Departments:
Attorney-General's Mr A D Rose
Transport and Communications Mr R D Beale
Mr C W M Freeland
Foreign Affairs and Trade Mr G L Miller
Employment, Education and Ms H Williams
Training Primary Tndustries and Energy Mr A D McGaurr

The Arts, Sport, the Mr P 3 Galvin ( Environment)
Environment, Tourism and Mr W 3 Harris ( Territories)
Territories Community Services and Health Mr B V McKay
Mr McKay will act as Secretary of the Department of
Community Services and Health until the completion of rr
Ayers' appointment in the Efficiency Scrutiny Unit.
I-r 3 D Enfield will be recommended for appointment as the
new Public Service Commissioner and in the interim will be
appointed to the Public Service Board.
I-r H B Mac~ onald will be recommended for appointment to a
senior position in the Data Protection Agency.
Dr W 3 McG Togart has been appointed as Secretary to the
Australian Science and Technology Council.
Mr E M W Vis; Dord OBE will be recommended to the
Governor-General for appointment as Ambassador to the OECD.
0 0 0 3 2 1

Prime Minister and Cabinet Mr M H Codd
Attorney-General's Mr P Brazil
Industry, Technology and Dr D T Charles
Commerce Treasury Mr B Fraser
Immigration, Local Government Mr R-L Brown
and Ethnic Affairs
Finance Dr M S Keating
Foreign Affairs and Trade Dr S Harris
Defence Mr A J Woods AO
Social Security Mr D Volker
iministrative Services Mr G G Glenn
Veterans Affairs Mr N J Tanzer
rboriginal Affairs Mr C N Perkins AO O